Thank you Planned Parenthood

In my last blog I mentioned saying thank you to people, people who act as light in the darkness.  In that vein I want to share a thank you letter I wrote to my local Planned Parenthood office in the wake of the recent violence that has been fostered and perpetrated against them.

Dear Friends,

Since the day I was invited to learn more of your work I have been awed by all that you do.  That day earlier this year I called you all resurrection workers.  I stand by it.  Every day you all are willing to walk into a building that is piled high with the garbage of so many people filled with hate.  You walk in there, not because you enjoy mucking around in other people’s cross-hairs.  But because you steadfastly refuse to leave neighbors in need to bear that burden alone.  You walk into a building taking on the ire and hate of entire populations of people in order to say to others, “You are not alone.  Don’t be afraid.”

You know who else does that?  Angels.  Literally.  Almost without fail the first words heaven has to speak to earth in the Bible is, “Do not be afraid.”  And through the very presence of those angels we are also reminded us we are not alone.  Every single day you make that your life’s work.  And you do it at great danger and expense to yourself.  Thank you.

I cannot convey the depth of my awe with regard to your generous spirits – to look people in the eye and not look away, to wipe away shame with love?  You inspire me.  Scripture is what I do, so I apologize but I will quote it again – yes you are having scripture quoted at you.  I wish this was the only reason people did so… to thank you.

In John’s Gospel it begins saying that a light shines in the darkness…. And that the darkness will not overcome it.  Those words have always evoked for me a sense of a light that is struggling to stay on.  A light that is constantly beset by the darkness.  A light that constantly seems on the verge of failing.  And yet… it is a light that cannot, will not, ever, ever go out.  It won’t because it’s too important.  It won’t because love, grace, and mercy always win out in the end.  You cannot kill love.  You can bury it in garbage and even blood.  But you cannot put it out.  It will shine through the worst the world has to offer to light up the best that we can be for one another.

Thank you for being a light.  Thank you for risking yourself and your own peace of mind to add peace in the lives of people who are so often turned away from the ones most expected to give us love.  You will not be overcome – we cannot let that happen, we will not let that happen.  Keep on shining, keep on giving, and keep on working to sew hope in the darkness.

I love you all.  You are not alone.

Grace and Peace,

Rev. Dr. Andrew Kukla

 

About Andrew Kukla

I am the proud father of four wonderful children, loving husband to Caroline, brother to three mostly wonderful sisters, and son of two parents that gifted me with a foundation of love and freedom. I also am a Presbyterian pastor and former philosophy major with a love of too many words (written with many grammatical errors and parenthetic thoughts), Soren Kierkegaard, and reflections on living a life of discipleship that is open to all the challenges, ups and downs, brokenness and grace, of a chaotic and wonderful life founded upon the love of God for all of creation.

Posted on December 23, 2015, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

