Be YOUR dream

“They asked me what I wanted to be and then told me what not to be, and I wasn’t the only one.  We were being told that we must somehow become what we are not, sacrificing what we are, to inherit the masquerade of what we will be.”

— Shane Koyczan: “To This Day” … for the bullied and beautiful

(I recommend highly watching the whole video, now or later: 

As we move from the story of Mary to that of Peter a theme is continued.  Unexpected voices.  That Jesus finds Peter, Andrew, James, and John fishing – learning the family trade – tells us something.  It tells us that the Jewish educational system had already decided they weren’t headed for leadership.  They didn’t have what it takes to be rabbis or teachers.  They had been sent back to families to learn the trade of their fathers.  And that is what they were doing… until Jesus showed up.

And Jesus says – I see something different… drop those nets that you are caught up in, and follow me.  That is to Jesus said to them: I see you as students capable of becoming teachers, disciples who will be rabbis, followers who will become leaders.  “They” don’t, but I do, so get up from that place you have been placed in and walk with me to the place you wish to go.

What did “they” tell you that you cannot be, or cannot do?  How did “they” convince you who you were or were going to be or cannot help but be?

Whatever that may be, Jesus enters the picture and tells you, drop those nets you are caught up in.  Follow me – because I see a whole different story at work in you and through you and the world is a better place BECAUSE of you!

About Andrew Kukla

I am the proud father of four wonderful children, loving husband to Caroline, brother to three mostly wonderful sisters, and son of two parents that gifted me with a foundation of love and freedom. I also am a Presbyterian pastor and former philosophy major with a love of too many words (written with many grammatical errors and parenthetic thoughts), Soren Kierkegaard, and reflections on living a life of discipleship that is open to all the challenges, ups and downs, brokenness and grace, of a chaotic and wonderful life founded upon the love of God for all of creation.

Posted on March 8, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

